Resetting Windows devices might not wipe all data

Microsoft says Home windows consumers may well come across that some of their data files are not deleted after resetting their Home windows gadgets with the “Get rid of every little thing” alternative.

This is caused by a freshly acknowledged known problem impacting the company’s OneDrive file internet hosting support.

“When attempting to reset a Home windows machine with apps which have folders with reparse facts, this sort of as OneDrive or OneDrive for Company, information which have been downloaded or synced domestically from OneDrive may well not be deleted when picking out the ‘Remove everything’ option,” Microsoft explains on the Windows well being dashboard.

“This concern may possibly be encountered when trying a handbook reset initiated inside Home windows or a remote reset. Remote resets may be initiated from Cell Machine Management (MDM) or other management programs, these types of as Microsoft Intune or 3rd-bash resources.”

Depending on the vendor, the solution to reset a Windows device may also be known as Push Button Reset, PBR, Reset This Personal computer, Reset Personal computer, or Clean Start off.

The concern was 1st spotted by Microsoft MVP Rudy Ooms last 7 days, who observed that distant or local wipes of Windows 10 programs would however leave the consumer info readable in the Windows.previous folder.

Ooms added in a different site submit additional detailing the concern that Bitlocker-encrypted information will also be moved in non-encrypted and readable form to the very same folder on some programs right after a Windows reset.

Has an effect on all supported Home windows versions

The bug impacts all Home windows versions underneath help, including Windows 11 21H2 and Windows 10 20H2 up to 21H2.

Microsoft claims the originating update for this recently acknowledged issue on Windows 10 systems is the October KB5006670 cumulative update that also activated printing troubles. Redmond did not give data on what would result in these reset issues on Windows 11 machines.

It has an effect on only data files that have been opened or downloaded on the Home windows product that will get reset since cloud-only information are not downloaded or synced locally.

Microsoft is performing on a deal with for this known concern and will address this bug in an future Windows update.

Workaround available

Meanwhile, the organization offers clients afflicted by this situation with a workaround to be certain that no person info is still left at the rear of when hoping to absolutely wipe a program by resetting a Home windows device.

“This problem can be prevented by signing out or unlinking OneDrive right before resetting your Home windows device. For instructions, see the “Unlink OneDrive” section in, Turn off, disable, or uninstall OneDrive,” Microsoft mentioned.

The firm extra that buyers could also take away any remaining information on currently reset devices making use of the Storage perception element in the Settings application.

“This concern can be mitigated on gadgets that have previously been reset by adhering to the ways in KB5012334—Delete the Home windows.old folder applying Storage sense in the Settings app.”